Happy Birthday, Mom!

My computer’s hard drive broke a few weeks ago, and I just now got around to restoring all of my pictures and things. Still no excuse to have not posted in about a month, though! I have a bunch of new recipes to post that I’m sure I’ll get around to posting this week.

But, in the meantime, I wanted to show off the cupcakes I made for my mother’s birthday celebration, that ended up not happening because none of the invitees could show. Dammit, Grandma! (Kidding.)

I had planned on using Cooks Illustrated’s recipe for yellow cupcakes (the kitchen-sink method!), filling with homemade lemon curd, and making a Raspberry Italian Merengue Buttercream to go with them.

But I got lazy. Still, the CI yellow cupcakes with added lemon zest (the price of organic lemons is ridiculous, just saying) and an American Buttercream with some mashed raspberries was just as delicious.

(I’d know… there were 12. There’s now 11 waiting for after dinner.)

I also made David Lebovitz’s Caramelized White Chocolate Ice Cream, which is now ripening in the freezer. But I snuck a taste of that too, and it’s everything I’d hoped it would be.

0 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Mom!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

New Blog!!

Go visit MCL Squared!

Calendar

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Networking


Facebook       Twitter

Flickr       Urbanspoon

